News & Media  

Our speakers are active worldwide!

Prof. Zhangxing (John) Chen joined us on 24 June 2013.

Prof. John Chen of University of Calgary was named by Oilsands Review (February 2009) as one of the three most prominent researchers in reservoir simulation in the world. Dr. Chen holds the 2012 Outstanding Leadership in Alberta Technology. He is building fundamental theories about enhancing oil recovery, both economically and environmentally; and developing algorithms to enhance understanding of the physics of the reservoir.

John delivers Opening Lecture in this Symposium, and chairs session 04 on reservoir simulation.

Prof. George Crabtree joined us on 3 August 2013.

The UC Santa Barbara Summit on Energy Efficiency attracted wide attention as a major forum on energy efficiency and sustainability with an emphasis on the science and technology that catalyzes the field. Prof. George Crabtree, Director of the Joint Center for Energy Storage Research (JCESR), Argonne National Laboratory, delivered a keynote presentation “JCESR: An Overview”.

George's interview on the future of energy (Washington Post).

George's speech about "The World in 50 Years" on Chicago Ideas Week.

George is the Plenary Keynote Speaker of this symposium and Chairman of session 03 on energy storage.

Prof. Ian Bryden joined us on 25 August 2013.

Ian Bryden, former professor of the University of Edinburgh, currently Vice-Principal (Research) of the University of the Highlands and Islands, explains renewable targets for the UK as well as the renewable resources currently in use and being developed, including wave and tidal (video).

Ian talked about "The Development of Marine Renewable Energy in Scotland" (video).

Ian is the Chairman and Keynote Speaker of session 15 on marine energy.

Prof. Amit Kumar joined us on 4 September 2013.

The work of University of Alberta mechanical engineering professor Amit Kumar has helped inform the Government of Alberta strategy on energy efficiency, and the strategy and focus on innovation to support the Government of Alberta's climate change plan. He is recently named the head of a research program looking at energy and the environment.

Amit chairs session 05 on energy and environment and gives a presentation on system level modelling.

Dr. Chris Fowler joined us on 11 September 2013.

Corrosion attacks every component at every stage in the life of every oil and gas field. NACE International is the world's leading professional organization for the corrosion control industry established in 1943. We have Dr. Chris Fowler of Exova Group Limited, former NACE International President (2010-11), and the current NACE International Institute President (2012-15) serving as the Chairman of session 21 on subsea integrity.

Prof. Huajian Gao joined us on 17 September 2013.

The Rodney Hill Prize for 2012 is awarded to Prof. Huajian Gao of Brown University, USA for his deep and broad scientific achievements in basic solid mechanics. His work encompasses fundamental theory as well as applications to materials science, nanotechnology, and bioengineering and his highly cited publications appear not only in the major solid mechanics journals but also in many high-profile, cross-disciplinary journals.

Huajian is the Keynote Speaker at session 03 on energy storage.

Prof. Robert M. McMeeking joined us on 25 September 2013.

Charging and discharging a lithium ion battery cause the development of stress in the storage particles, and increase the likelihood of fracture of the storage particle material.

Prof. Robert M. McMeeking FREng NAE of the University of California, Santa Barbara, USA and University of Aberdeen, UK is the keynote speaker of session 03 on energy storage.

Prof. David Cardwell joined us on 1 October 2013.

At the moment up to 10% of electrical energy is lost in transit before it reaches the user. Recently, Prof. David Cardwell of the University of Cambridge and his team has made a breakthrough in the manufacture of high-temperature superconducting materials; this could be used to protect the national grid (video).

David is the keynote speaker of session 13 on energy and superconductivity.

Prof. Alice Zhang joined us on 3 October 2013

International Contest of Application in Nano-micro Technology (iCAN) is the first international youth innovation contest in micro/nano fields. Prof. Haixia (Alice) Zhang founded and organized iCAN since 2007 and now iCAN becomes the large scale innovation contest in the world.

Alice is the Keynote Speaker at session 06 on nano-energy.

Prof. Jing Li joined us on 22 October 2013.

Jing Li, a chemistry professor at Rutgers University, was honored by the U.S. Clean Energy Education and Empowerment (C3E) women's initiative with the 2012 U.S. (report, video).

Jing is the Chairwoman and Keynote Speaker of session 23 on "porous materials and structures for energy applications".

Mr. Neil Kermode joined us on 25 November 2013.

A Chartered Engineer and Chartered Environmentalist, Neil was appointed Managing Director of the European Marine Energy Centre (EMEC) in 2005. Based in Orkney, Scotland, EMEC is the world's first and only accredited test facility for demonstrating wave and tidal energy converters in real-sea conditions.

Neil has spoken on marine energy extensively in the UK and internationally. He is an active member of assorted advisory groups on the subject and passionate advocate for a sustainable energy future. Neil presented at All-Energy 2013 (video).

Neil Kermode of EMEC: (video, interview)

Neil is the Keynote Speaker of session 15 on "marine energy".





Copyright © 2013 North Sea Conference & Journal All rights reserved.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
RN: SC452202



About NSCJ